Manage user sign up to organizations

Link to this section

Kinde lets you easily manage which organizations users can sign up to.

For example, you can:

  • allow or disable users from signing up to specific organizations (if you manage multiple organizations)
  • allow or disable automatic sign up to the default organization (all Kinde businesses have a default)
  • disable signups completely, and add users manually, via API, or by import.
  • disable organizations from being created when a user signs up - this is usually only needed by businesses who’s customers are also businesses (B2B).

Follow the relevant procedure below to set up your preferences.

Allow users to register to a specific organization

Link to this section

Each organization you set up in Kinde will have a unique org_code.

If you want users to sign up to a specific organization, the org_code must be passed with their registration request. You need to switch this functionality on per organization.

⚠️ Caution: the org_code in the http request is vulnerable to manipulation, so only allow registrations to organizations that you would allow anyone to sign up to. If this is not the case, we suggest you leave this switched off and add the user to the right organization later via the Kinde management API.

  1. Go to Organizations and select the organization.
  2. On the Details page, switch on the option to Allow registrations.
  3. Select Save. Anyone can now register onto this organization if the org_code is passed with the registration request.

Sign users up to the default organization

Link to this section

If the organization being signed up to is not known when a user signs up, the default organization is used. This applies to users created via API and by import as well.

If you want, you can switch this off to prevent sign-ups to the default org.

  1. Go to Settings > Environment > Details.
  2. Scroll down and switch off the Sign users up to the default organization if one can’t be detected option.
  3. Select Save.

Disable user sign up

Link to this section

You can disable user sign up altogether. You might do this if you want to add and manage users manually or by import only.

  1. Go to Settings > Environment > Details.
  2. Scroll down and switch off the Allow users to sign up option.
  3. Select Save. This setting applies to all apps and organizations in your business.

Sign in experience for users in multiple organizations

Link to this section

If a user belongs to multiple organizations, they will be prompted to select an organization when they sign in unless they pass a specific org_code.

If you use enterprise authentication, users will be recognized by their email domain and will be forwarded to the correct identity provider.


Talk to us

If you can’t find what you’re looking for in our help center — email our team

Contact support